Day 12 – Another Busy Day!

January 12, 2011

Today I got up early to go shopping with Chrissie…my daughter.  Actually…she accompanied me!  I went out looking for a new camera…a digital SLR.  I went out looking to get a body for my old Nikon camera lens….but rather quickly decided that it wasn’t worth trying to get a body….when the body I wanted wouldn’t work with the auto focus feature.  The newer lenses are made to match and work with the newer bodies…so I thought it best to just get the lens(s) with the new body.  And my daughter is a Canon fan…and uses it in her photography business.  So went to two different shops in town….if you want a camera from a good shop….there are two places to go in Fresno.  Boots Camera….and Horn Photo.  Horn photo is actually where I wanted to purchase because when I was a young girl, my father used to shop at Horn photo and knew the original owners.  I bought the Canon Rebel T2i and two lenses.  An 18-55 mm lens for everyday shooting…and a 55-250 mm for zooming.  Now I need to sit down and read the manual….these new digital cameras are a lot more complicated than my old 35 mm camera. 

I also did some baking today….I did a dry run on some mini donuts that I want to make for Preston’s birthday party….and some candy coated pretzel rods.  They both turned out pretty cute.  I think these recipes will work just fine.  Oh….I got the recipe for the mini donuts here:   http://www.sprinklebakes.com/2010/08/vanilla-bean-baby-doughnuts.html  And I used the frosting glaze for rolling the pretzel rods in….and sprinkling with the colored candies.